Osvaldo Golijov (1960)

ZZ's Dream (2008)

for orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2008
    • Duration: 7 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Dedication: aux musiciens de l'Orchestre symphonique de Boston
Detailed formation
  • flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, vibraphone, celesta, harp, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 11 May 2008

    √Čtats-Unis, Boston, Jordan Hall


    l'Orchestre symphonique de Boston.


Autre version existante : ZZ's Dream pour piano.

Program note

Once upon a time, I, Zhuang Zhou, dreamt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and thither. I was conscious only of my happiness as a butterfly, unaware that I was Zhou. Soon I awoke, and there I was, veritably myself again. Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man.

Site internet du compositeur.