Jesper Nordin (1971)

Moirai (2006)

concerto for percussion and orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2006
    • Duration: 20 mn
    • Publisher: Peters
    • Commission: Swedish Concert Institute
Detailed formation
  • soloist: percussionist
  • 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 2 percussionists, piano, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 15 March 2006

    Suède, Västerås


    Mika Takehara et le Västerås Sinfonietta, direction : Hannu Koivula.

Program note

Moirai is a percussion concerto for composed for Mika Takehara. Commissioned and premiered by Västerås Sinfonietta and Mika Takehara, conducted by Hannu Koivula 15/3 2006. The title Moirai comes from the Greek mythology where it is the name of the three goddesses of fate:
Klotho - whose name meant 'Spinner', was spinning the thread of life.
Lachesis - whose name meant 'Apportioner of Lots', measured the thread of life.
Atropos, whose name meant 'She who cannot be turned', cut the thread of life.
The concerto is partly based on an earlier collaboration between Mika Takehara and Jesper Nordin – the piece Klotho, for marimba, cello and percussion ensemble that Mika Takehara premiered with Åsa Strid and the percussions ensemble Kroumata.

Jesper Nordin.