updated 5 June 2014
© Aleksandra Chciuk

Marcin Stańczyk

Polish composer born 16 November 1977 in Łęczyca, Poland.

Following studies of Law, Marcin Stańczyk dedicated himself to composition, studying at the Łódź Academy of Music with Zygmunt Krauze (music theory and composition) and Krzysztof Knittel (electronic music).

In 2007, he was selected to participate in a four-year programme inaugurated by Krzysztof Penderecki. From 2007 to 2010, he undertook further study of composition with Ivan Fedele at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. During this time, he attended the Young Composers Meeting in Apeldoorn, a masterclass with Klangforum Wien and Trilok Gurtu at the Venise Biennale (2007-2008), the Bang on a Can Summer Festival (2009), and Voix nouvelles at Royaumont (2009).

From 2007 to 2011, he was awarded numerous study grants from Poland, as well as from the Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt, the Italian government, and the Aldeburgh Music Centre.

In 2011-12, he participated in the first year of the IRCAM Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course), completing the second year in 2013-14.

In 2013, he received a Doctorate in Music from the Łódź Academy of Music.

Awards, Grants, and Prizes:

  • 2013, Tokyo – First Prize in the Toru Takemitsu Composition Competition, for SIGHS.
  • 2011, University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign – Second Prize in the 15th Salvatore Martirano Award, for Nibiru - La rivoluzione della terra sconosciuta.
  • 2010, San Francisco – Honourable Mention in the 2010 Biennale/ISB David Walter Composition Competition, for Three afterimages for contrabass.
  • 2010, Milan and Monza – First Prize in the Franco Donatoni Composition Competition/International Meeting for Young composers, with Divertimento Ensemble, for Laterna.
  • 2009, Tokyo – Third Prize in the 14th International Chambre Music Composition Competition, for Three afterimages.
  • 2008, Bucarest – Third Prize in the Second International Composition Competition “From Romanticism to Contemporary,” for Dialogues de Douve.
  • 2007, Povoletto, Italy – First Prize in the Eighth International Composition Competition for Solo Works, for Aspetto.
  • 2006, Rotterdam – First Prize in the Laurentscantorij Foundation International Composition Competition, for Trois chants d’amour.
  • 2006, Chengdu, China – Second Prize in the Third Sun River Composition Competition for Geysir – Grisey.
  • 2006, Łódź, Poland – Second Prize in the G. Bacewicz International Composition Competition, for Afterimages for violin and piano.
  • 2006, Bydgoszcz, Poland – Third Prize in the I. Paderewski International Composition Competition for Czekaj.

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2014


Site personnel http://marcinstanczyk.com/ (lien vérifié en mars 2014).

  • Solo (excluding voice)
  • Chamber music
    • Esercizi homage to Karol Szymanowski, musical theater for two melodic instruments, two harmonic instruments, metronomes and audience (2005), variable
    • Geysir – Grisey for two pianos, violin, viola and double bass (2005), 12 mn 3 s
    • elec Last one musical theater for alto saxophone, harpsichord and electronics (2005), 12 mn 30 s
    • Musings for alto saxophone and piano without performer (2005), 9 mn 15 s
    • Afterimages for violin and piano (2006), 10 mn 20 s
    • Suggested music for two saxophones, electric guitar and piano (2010), 9 mn 30 s
    • 4’34’’ short piece against John Cage, musical happening for cello, clarinet and piano (2012), 10 mn about
    • Esercizi tribute to Karol Szymanowski, happening / musical theater for different instrumentalists, singers, composer, metronomes and audience (2012), variable
    • elec ircam Aftersounds for two percussionists and electronics (2013-2014), 15 mn [program note]
  • Instrumental ensemble music
  • Vocal music and instrument(s)
    • elec Agnus Dei for mixed choir, 4 percussions, oboe and electronics (2004), 14 mn 30 s
    • Dialogues de Douve for mezzo-soprano and piano (2007), 12 mn
    • Analessi Rotte for cello, baritone, tenor and trombone (2009), 7 mn
    • In case of rapture musical theater for 3 male voices and 4 musicians (2011), 10 mn
    • Transposed heads chamber opera for soprano, ensemble and five dancers (2011-2012), 25 mn
  • A cappella vocal music
  • Unspecified instrumentation
    • Meetings for professional and traditional musicians (2007)
    • Silenzio sound impression on a painting by Lukasz Leszczyński (2007), 22 mn
    • elec Mystery of Chopin polimedia project, musical sculpture (2010)
    • Opera 3 happening for soloist, accompanist and composer (2010), 5 mn
    • Archeopteryx ballet music (2010-2011), 26 mn

Lien Internet