updated 8 September 2014
© Saara Vuorjoki / Fimic

Juha T. Koskinen

Finnish composer born 26 October 1972 in Espoo.

Juha Tapani Koskinen was born in Finland in 1972. From 1991-1998 he studied composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with Kalevi Aho, Anders Eliasson, Paavo Heininen, and Kaija Saariaho. During this period he participated in the Avanti! summer academy in Finland (with Magnus Lindberg, Jouni Kaipainen, and Kaija Saariaho), as well as the summer academies of the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena (with Franco Donatoni) and of IRCAM (with Ivan Fedele). In 1996-1997, he studied at the Conservatoire de Lyon (CNSMDL) with Gilbert Amy, Philippe Manoury, and Philippe Schœller. In 1999-2000, he participated in Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course) and the following year took the composition course of Marco Stroppa at the Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMDP).

He has received numerous commissions, notably from Finnish radio (for pieces such as Hehkuva graniitti and Symphony n°1). His works have been performed by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Court-Circuit, Ensemble Recherche, the Diotima quartet, the NOVOFLOT opera company, and the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble, at venues and festivals such as the European Academy of Music, the Finnish National Opera, the Tokyo Opera, the Helsinki Musica Nova Festival, the Mouvement-Musik im 21. Jahrhundert festival, and Ultraschall Berlin.

Awards and Honors

  • Second Prize, UNESCO Young Composers Rostrum in 1995 for Eclysis
  • Nadia and Lili Boulanger International Foundation Scholarship in 2000-2001
  • Takefu International Composition Award (Japan) in 2004 for Sogni di Dante

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2014

Liens Internet