! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming

Karen Tanaka

Japanese composer born 7 April, 1961 in Tokyo

Karen Tanaka was born in Tokyo in 1961. She took up piano at the age of four and started composing at ten. She went on to study composition with Akira Miyoshi at the Toho Gakuen School of Music. During her four years at this institution, she was the recipient of numerous prestigious prizes in Japan and Europe, including the Viotti and Trieste Composition Prizes and the Japanese Symphony Foundation Award.

In 1986, she moved to Paris where, with a grant from the French State, she studied composition with Tristan Murail and participated in the IRCAM Cursus (IRCAM’s composition and computer music course). In 1987 she was awarded the Gaudeamus Prize, and in 1988 the Muramatsu Prize. In 1990-91, she studied in Florence with Luciano Berio thanks to grants from the Nadia and Lili Boulanger Foundation and the Japanese State.

Her music has been performed around the world. Her orchestral works Prismes, Initium and Wave Mechanics, and her work for solo cello Lilas have been released on CD. Her scores are published by Chester Music, London.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

  • Solo (excluding voice)
  • Chamber music
    • Polarization for two percussionists (1994), 12 mn, Chester Music
    • Invisible Curve for flute, violin, viola, cello and piano (1996), 9 mn, Chester Music
    • Metal Strings for string quartet (1996), 10 mn, Chester Music
  • Instrumental ensemble music
    • Prismes for orchestra (1984), 10 mn, Chester Music
    • Wave Mechanics for 20 instrumentalists (1994), 10 mn, Chester Music
    • Echo Canyon for 14 instrumentalists (1995), 9 mn, Chester Music
  • Concertant music

Lien Internet

! Informations prior to 2002 : update is coming

Karen Tanaka

Compositrice japonaise née le 7 avril 1961 à Tokyo.

Karen Tanaka est née à Tokyo en 1961. Elle débute ses études musicales par le piano à quatre ans et des cours de composition à dix ans, avant d’étudier la composition auprès d’Akira Miyoshi à la Toho Gakuen School of Music. Durant les quatres ans passés dans cet établissement, elle obtient plusieurs prix importants au Japon et en Europe pour ses compositions, y compris aux concours de Viotti et de Trieste, et le Japan Symphony Fondation Award.

En 1986, elle s’installe à Paris et, avec le soutien d’une bourse de l’Etat français, elle étudie la composition avec Tristan Murail et travaille à l’Ircam comme stagiaire. En 1987, elle obtient le prix Gaudeamus à l’International Music Week d’Amsterdam, et en 1988 le prix Muramatsu. En 1990-1991, elle étudie à Florence avec Luciano Berio grâce à une bourse de la Fondation internationale Nadia et Lili Boulanger, et à une bourse du gouvernement japonais. En 1991-1992, elle participe au cursus de composition et d’informatique musicale de l’Ircam où elle réalise une oeuvre.

Sa musique a été interprétée et diffusée dans le monde entier. Ses pièces pour orchestre Prismes, Initium et Wave Mechanics et sa pièce pour soliste Lilas ont été enregistrées sur CD. Ses œuvres sont publiées par Chester Music, Londres.


© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 1997

  • None
    • elec Initium for orchestra and live electronics (1992), 13 mn, Chester Music
  • Musique soliste (sauf voix)
  • Chamber music
    • Invisible Curve for flute, violin, viola, cello and piano (1996), 9 mn, Chester Music
    • Metal Strings for string quartet (1996), 10 mn, Chester Music
    • Polarization for two percussionists (1994), 12 mn, Chester Music
  • Musique instrumentale d'ensemble
    • Echo Canyon for 14 instrumentalists (1995), 9 mn, Chester Music
    • Prismes for orchestra (1984), 10 mn, Chester Music
    • Wave Mechanics for 20 instrumentalists (1994), 10 mn, Chester Music
  • Musique concertante

Lien Internet