John Zorn (1953)

Split the Lark (2021)

for soprano and piano

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2021
    • Duration: 20 mn
    • Publisher: Hips Road Edition
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Emily Dickinson

Detailed formation
  • soloist: soprano
  • piano

Premiere information


Présentation de l’éditeur : Split the Lark—and you’ll find the music—Bulb after Bulb—in Silver rolled” Seven nocturnes for voice and piano inspired by the envelope fragments of Emily Dickinson.

Table of contents

  1. And yet we know that gentle Clock
  2. Her magic pace
  3. Like the Wheels of Birds
  4. To our Nature’s soft
  5. To light, and then return
  6. Eternity will be Velocity
  7. By that bleak Exultation