John Zorn (1953)

Orchestra Variations (1996)

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1996
    • Duration: 6 mn
    • Publisher: Hips Road Edition
    • Dedication: Leonard Bernstein
Detailed formation
  • 4 flutes (also alto flute), 4 oboes, 4 clarinets (also bass clarinet), 4 bassoons (also contrabassoon), 3 horns, 4 trumpets, 4 trombones, tuba, timpani, 4 percussionists, piano (also celesta), harp, strings

Premiere information


Présentation de l’éditeur : Breaking the full orchestra into small chamber groups, this enigmatic miniature creates an intimacy rarely heard in modern orchestral music. Written for the 200th anniversary of the New York Philharmonic, and dedicated to Leonard Bernstein.