Augusta Read Thomas (1964)

Bass Clarinet Concertino (2015)

for bass clarinet and chamber ensemble

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2015
    • Duration: 10 mn
    • Publisher: Schirmer
    • Commission: The Danish Chamber Players ; Gunnar Eckhoff
    • Dedication: The Danish Chamber Players ; Gunnar Eckhoff
Detailed formation
  • soloist: bass clarinet
  • flute, clarinet, 2 percussions, piano, harp, violin, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Performers: Vincent Penot, clarinette basse ; Orchestre Symphonique Région Centre-Val de Loire Tours ; Kanako Abe, direction.


Il existe 3 options d’orchestration :

Table of contents

  1. Paul Klee: ROPE DANCER: Homage to Hans Abrahamsen;
  2. Wassily Kandinsky: SKY BLUE: Homage to Bent Sørensen;
  3. Joan Miro: LADDERS CROSS THE BLUE SKY IN A WHEEL OF FIRE: Homage to Poul Ruders.