David Lang (1957)

death speaks (2012)

for soprano, electric guitar, violin and piano

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2012
    • Duration: 12 mn
    • Publisher: Schirmer
    • Commission: Carnegie Hall Corporation et Stanford Lively Arts
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Texte de David Lang, d'après Schubert.

Detailed formation
  • soprano, piano, electric guitar, violin

Premiere information

  • Date: 27 January 2012

    New York, Carnegie Hall, Zankel Hall


    Shara Worden, soprano, Bryce Dessner, guitare, Owen Palett, violon, Nico Muhly, piano.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: amplification