Jesper Nordin (1971)

Arches (2008)

concerto for recorder and orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2008
    • Duration: 20 mn
    • Publisher: Peters
    • Commission: Swedish Concert Institute
Detailed formation
  • soloist: recorder
  • 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 2 percussionists, piano, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 6 April 2008

    Suède, Jönköping


    Anna Petrini et le Jönköping Sinfonietta, direction : Andreas Hanson.

Program note

Arches is a recorder concerto composed for Anna Petrini. Commissioned and premiered by Jönköping Sinfonietta and Anna Petrini, conducted by Andreas Hanson 6/4 2008.

Arches is composed in three movements where the soloist plays doublebass recorder (Paetzold), soprano recorder and alto recorder respectively. The title Arches is both meant as a description of the actual musical lines and processes and as an evocation of a solemn and sacred atmosphere with images like churches or monuments. Arches include optional electronics, but will always need amplification for the soloist.

Jesper Nordin.