John Cage (1912-1992)

Etcetera (1973)

for ensemble with three conductors and magnetic tape with environmental sounds

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1973
    • Duration: maximum 1 h 30 mn
    • Publisher: Peters, New York, nº EP 6812, 1973
Detailed formation
  • 3 conductors, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, tuba, 6 percussionists, 2 pianos, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 6 November 1973

    France, Paris, Opéra


    le ballet de l'Opéra de Paris Opera Ballet, avec la chorégraphie de Merce Cunningham.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: sons fixés sur support


  • Chorégraphie de Merce Cunningham : Un Jour ou Deux (1973).
  • L'instrumentation est flexible, on peut ajouter, retirer des instruments.