updated 7 October 2021
© Marie-Luise Calvero

Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis

Filipino composer born 10 April 1987 in Taytay Rizal (Philippines).

Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis studied composition from 2004 to 2009 with Jonas Baes and Josefino Toledo at the University of the Philippines in Quezon City, graduating with a Bachelor’s degree Magna cum laude. She went on to obtain a Master of Composition in 2011 from the University of Memphis, where she studied composition with Kamran Ince and analysis with John Baur. From 2014 to 2018, she studied composition with Oliver Schneller and electronic music with Joachim Heintz at the Hannover Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien, graduating with a second Master’s degree. She is currently working on an Artistic Doctorate at the Graz Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst, under the direction of Beat Furrer and Christian Utz.

Alongside her studies, she has participated in composition masterclasses led by Stefano Gervasoni, Lee Hyla, Sandeep Bhagwati, Perluigi Billone, and Michael Jarrell, also allowing her to work with ensembles such as Musik Fabrik, Wet Ink, Neue Vocalsolisten, Schwerpunkt, and Chambre d’écoute.

Her works have been performed at international festivals, including KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen (Hannover), Die Zukunft beginnt um 19.15 Uhr! (Freiburg), Impuls (Graz), Mise-en Festival (New York), ZKM Globale: Next Generation 6.0 (Karlsruhe), International Choral Kathaumixw (Powell River, Canada), Divertimento Ensemble International Workshop for Young Composers (Bobbio, Italy), Etchings (Auvillar, France), Duong Dai Festival (Ho Chi Minh), and the Manila Composers Lab in Quezon City.

Her interactive installations have been presented in venues such as the Kulturzentrum Faust, Sprengel Museum, Kunstraum Tosterglope, and the Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie (ZKM).

In 2014, Reyes Macahis was awarded a prize in the “Neue Musik und China” Composition Competition, a project organised by the Konfuzius-Institut of the University of Hamburg, the Deichtorhallen Sammlung Falckenberg, and Trio Catch. In 2017, she was awarded first prize in the “NEUE SZENEN IV” Composition Competition, an initiative of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. She has received grants and commissions from the Musica AntiquaNova Foundation (Argentina), the Manila Composers Lab (financed by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung), the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Canada Arts Council, and the Hannoversche Gesellschaft für Neue Musik. In 2018, she participated in Royaumont Voix Nouvelles.

In 2019-20, Linea Ensemble invited her to undertake a composition residence. Finally, IRCAM and the Royaumont Foundation, with support from the ULYSSES Network, commissioned a new work, to be premiered in 2021.

Her works are published by BabelScores.

Awards and Prizes

  • Second Prize, {Raum::Klang} Wettbewerb Interaktive Klänge für 3D-Labor by HAW Hamburg, 2017
  • First Prize, Vareler Kompositionspreis für zeitgenössische Musik, 2015

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2021


Site personnel de la compositrice ; Site de Babelscores.

  • Solo (excluding voice)
    • Nekkar for solo bass trombone (2012), 7 mn
    • Capella for trumpet, voice and bells (2013, 2013), 8 mn
    • Igwáy for oboe (2014), 15 mn
    • Tálâ for piano (2014), 5 mn
    • Zaurak for flute (2015, 2015), 6 mn
    • Lu:taŋ for accordion (2017, 2017, 2017), 10 mn
    • elec Tula-y for voice, piano, electronics and video (2017), 15 mn
  • Chamber music
    • Bellatrix for oboe, piano and cello (2012), 12 mn
    • Bardo for clarinet, piano and cello (2014), 12 mn
    • Agaas for brass quintet (2014), 5 mn, BabelScores
    • Hibla for ensemble (2015, 2015, 2015), 5 mn about , BabelScores
    • Talinhaga for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola and cello (2015), 5 mn
    • Widerhall des Stadtverfalls for tenor saxophone, accordion and double bass (2015), between 6 mn and 10 mn about , BabelScores
    • Ag.os for marimba quartet (2015), 3 mn, BabelScores
    • Out of the depths for ensemble (2017), 8 mn
    • elec I:na:a:li:ka:bu:kan for violin, viola, cello, Egyptian qanun and electronics (2018), 11 mn
    • Spirito Affine for flute, clarinet, piano, violin and cello (2020), 10 mn
  • Instrumental ensemble music
  • Concertant music
  • Vocal music and instrument(s)
    • stage The Madness of the Night and the Woven Stars for vocal ensemble, gamelan ensemble and eight dancers (2009), 60 mn
    • Sirius for chakhe, saw ua, ranat ek, klong khaek, and traditional Thai singer (with ching) (2013), 11 mn
    • Procyon for voice, clarinet, percussion and cello (2014), 6 mn
    • elec One Word, Three Syllables for voice, small ensemble and tape (2015), 6 mn, BabelScores
    • Lumiere (lymjɛʁ) for female voices, flute, oboe, clarinet and percussion (2015), 5 mn about , BabelScores
    • Tatalà for voice, flute, clarinet, piano, violin and cello (2017), 6 mn
    • Lullaby for a dead body for female voice and piano (2018), 2 mn 30 s
    • stage Eurydike chamber opera for three sopranos, baritone, bass and ensemble (2019), 30 mn
    • Embora for voice, flute, clarinet, violin and cello (2020), 12 mn
    • Nag lalang man ta salunay for voice, flute, piano and cello (2020, 2020), 13 mn
  • A cappella vocal music
  • Electronic music / fixed media / mechanical musical instruments
  • Unspecified instrumentation
    • elec Guryon sound installation for eight speakers and sixteen loudspeakers (2015)
    • elec Sungka interactive sound installation for sungka and light sensors (2015)

Liens internet

(liens vérifiés en mai 2021).