updated 3 April 2023
© Diego Pittaluga

Luis Naón

Franco-Argentine composer born in 1961 in La Plata.

 Born in La Plata (Argentina) in 1961, Luis Naón studied music in Buenos Aires from 1971 to 1980 (composition, piano, theory, choir, counterpoint, Gregorian chant, music history, and acoustics), earning two bachelor’s degrees in composition. In 1981, he settled in Paris, where he studied choir conducting with Stéphane Caillat at the Catholic University. He went on to study composition and electroacoustic music with Guy Reibel and Laurent Cuniot at the Paris Conservatoire (CNSMDP) from 1982 to 1985. From 1985 to 1987, he undertook further study of composition with Sergio Ortega at the Pantin School of Music, and with Horacio Vaggione at Paris VIII University. In 2006, he graduated with an advanced degree (DEA) from the latter institution with a thesis on his “Urbana” (1999/2001) cycle.

From his earliest works, Luis Naón sought to articulate the duality of his studio work and his Franco-Argentine identity. This preoccupation has taken many forms, but frequently manifests in associations with other artforms (painting, theatre, architecture). To this end, he has collaborated with visual artist Abel Robino on several multimedia installations since 1997, and with François Wastiaux and the Valsez Cassis Company since 1994 on numerous performance pieces which have been widely performed in France, including at the Avignon Festival, and in Buenos Aires at Teatro Colón. This duality is also present in his writing style (spectral, combinatorial) and choice of genres (acousmatic, instrumental). His catalogue comprises works for orchestra, mixed music with real-time electronics or fixed media, works featuring synthesisers, and installations. His “Urbana” cycle comprises 24 pieces, including the Six Caprices for solo instrument and electronics, commissioned by IRCAM/Centre Pompidou. He collaborated with choreographer Odile Azagury and the Ars Nova Ensemble on Les Princesses, a scenic work commissioned for the opening of the Poitiers Theatre Auditorium.

In 1993, he was a member of the jury for the CIM-UNESCO Prize and the Ashberg-UNESCO Grants, and in 1997 was a representative for the International Rostrum of Composers. He has taught composition and music technology at the Paris Conservatoire (CNSMDP) since 1991, and has appeared at numerous seminars and masterclasses throughout the world. He has also been a composition professor at the Catalonia College of Music (ESMuC) and the Geneva University of Music (HEM) since 2003. In 2020-2021, he is in residency at the Haute école de Musique Vaud Valais Fribourg, Switzerland.

Luis Naón is Artistic Director of Ensemble Diagonal.

  • Trinac Prize, awarded by the International Music Council (CIM) and Argentine National Radio in 1986 for Cinq personnages en quête de hauteur, in 1990 for Tango del desamparo, and in 1996 for Speculorum Memoria.
  • First Prize from the Argentine Endowment for the Arts in 1988 for Reflets…
  • Olympia International Composition Prize (Athens) in 1990 for Ombre de l’Ombre.
  • UNESCO International Composers’ Rostrum Prize in 1990 for Tango del desamparo, and in 1996 for Speculorum Memoria.
  • Prize of the City of Buenos Aires in 1991 for Ombre de l’ombre, and in 1995 for Speculorum Memoria.
  • Sextet « . », named as a finalist in the “Victoires de la Musique Classique” in 1996.
  • Luis de Narvaez Prize (Grenada) in 2001 for Quartet No. 2.
  • SACEM Georges Enesco Prize in 2001.

© Ircam-Centre Pompidou, 2018


Liens Internet

(liens vérifiés en mars 2023).


  • Luis NAÓN, La sphère et la pierre ; Perspectives ; Lascaux, dans « 9 Trajectoires », 9 CD Ina-GRM, 2018, INA G6050/59.
  • Luis NAÓN, Princesses, Ensemble Ars Nova, dir. Philippe Nahon, 1 cd L’empreinte digitale, 2015, ED13239.
  • Luis NAÓN, Lascaux Expérience, Ensemble Laborintus, 1 cd Césaré, 2012.
  • Luis NAÓN, « Sainte Nitouche & Satellites », Senderos… que bifurcan ; Sainte Nitouche (la fille ni bien, ni mal), Agnès Sourdillon : récitante, Ensemble Diagonal, Sylvia Vadimova : mezzo-soprano, Géraud Étrillard : saxophone, Ensemble Diagonal, direction Rut Schereiner, 1 cd alamuse, 2012, ALM 004.
  • Luis NAÓN, Alto Voltango, dans « Le Saxophone dans tous ses états »,(avec également des œuvres de Florent Schmitt, Luciano Berio, Claude Debussy, Sofia Goubaïdoulina, Georgia Spiropoulos, Fuminori Tanada et Christophe Monniot), Erwan Fagant (saxophone), Hervé Trovel (vibraphone), CD Conservatoire de Paris, 2003 [58 min].
  • Luis NAÓN, dans « Paris-Buenos Aires »,(avec également des œuvres de Daniel Bozzani, Gerardo Gandini, Carlos Graetzer, Astor Piazzolla…), Claude Delangle, Susanna Moncayo, Jean Geoffroy, Odile Delangle, Tango Futur, CD Bis, 2003.