Louis Andriessen (1939-2021)

Zilver (1994)

pour ensemble

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 1994
    • Durée : 15 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
Effectif détaillé
  • flûte, clarinette, marimba, vibraphone, piano, violon, violoncelle

Information sur la création

  • Date : 11 janvier 1995
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, Los Angeles, Modern Art Museum.

Note de programme

The idea behind Zilver was to write a chorale variation as Bach did for organ: a long, slow-moving melody, combined with the same melody played faster. The ensemble is divided into two groups: the wind and strings play the sustained melody in chorale-like four-part harmony, and the rest of the instruments – vibraphone, marimba and piano – play increasingly fast staccato chords. The two groups play in canons.

Zilver is one of a planned series of chamber pieces named after a type of physical matter. Hout (‘wood’) is the first, and Zilver (‘silver’) is the second. The title also refers to the two silver instruments – flute and vibraphone – which start and end the piece.

Louis Andriessen.