Osvaldo Golijov (1960)

How Slow the Wind (2001)

pour voix et orchestre

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2001
    • Durée : 8 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commande : Orchestre du Minnesota pour son 100e anniversaire
    • Livret (détail, auteur) :

      Textes d'Emily Dickinson.

Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : soprano
  • 2 flûtes (aussi flûte alto), hautbois, cor anglais, cor de basset, clarinette (aussi clarinette basse), 2 bassons (aussi contrebasson), 2 cors, 2 percussionnistes, harpe, célesta, cordes

Information sur la création

  • Date : mars 2002
    Lieu :

    États-Unis, Minneapolis

    Interprètes :

    Dawn Upshaw et l'Orchestre du Minnesota, direction : Alan Gilbert.


Il existe également une version de cette œuvre pour soprano et quatuor à cordes, voir How Slow the Wind.

Note de programme

How Slow the Wind, a setting of two short Emily Dickinson poems, was Golijov's response to the death in an accident of his friend Mariel Stubrin. He writes, 'I had in mind one of those seconds in life that is frozen in the memory, forever-a sudden death, a single instant in which life turns upside down, different from the experience of death after a long agony.' Originally for voice and string quartet, the piece was commissioned by Cecilia Wasserman, in memory of her late husband Herb, for Close Encounters with Music and was first performed in their Seiji Ozawa Hall concert of May 5, 2001, by Dawn Upshaw, soprano; Toby Appel and Justine Chen, violins; Kenji Bunch, viola, and Yehuda Hanani, cello.

Osvaldo Golijov, site internet du compositeur.