Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Cello Concerto (2000)

  • Informations générales
    • Date de composition : 2000
    • Durée : 18 mn
    • Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commande : Daniel Baremboim et le Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Effectif détaillé
  • soliste : violoncelle
  • 3 flûtes (aussi 1 flûte piccolo), 2 hautbois, cor anglais, 2 clarinettes (aussi 1 clarinette basse), clarinette basse (aussi clarinette contrebasse), 2 bassons, contrebasson, 4 cors, 3 trompettes, 2 trombones, tuba, 3 percussionnistes, timbales, harpe, cordes

Information sur la création

  • Date : 27 septembre 2001
    Lieu :

    Etats-Unis Chicago, Illinois, Symphony Hall

    Interprètes :

    Yo-Yo Ma : violoncelle et l'Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, direction : Daniel Barenboim.

Note de programme

My Cello Concerto is introduced by the soloist alone, playing a frequently interrupted cantilena that presents ideas later to be expanded into movements. These movements are connected by episodes that often refer to the final Allegro fantastico. In this score I have tried to find meaningful, personal ways of revealing the cello’s vast array of wonderful possibilities.

Commissioned by the Chicago Symphony for the amazing Yo-Yo Ma, who has given outstanding performances of my 1948 Cello Sonata, the score was composed in New York City and Southbury, Connecticut during 2000.

Elliott Carter, 2001.