Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012)

Inner light 2 (1977)

for solo voices, instrumental ensemble and tape

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1977
    • Duration: 35 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music, Londres, nº F0559
    • Dedication: à Dominic
    • Libretto (details, author):

      textes de Kipling, Blake, T.S. Eliot, St. John's Gospel, Rudolf Steiner

Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists à 5 voix (2 solo soprano, solo contralto [], solo tenor [], solo bass voice [])
  • horn, trumpet, trombone, percussionist, harp, piano, electric organ, electronic/MIDI keyboard/synthesizer [synthétiseur VCS3] , violin, second violin, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 8 July 1977

    Royaume-Uni, Cheltenham Town Hall


    Rosemary Hardy, Elizabeth Harrison : sopranos, Linda Hirst : mezzo-soprano, Peter hall : ténor, William Mason : basse, membres du London Sinfonietta, direction : Elgar Howarth.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: sons fixés sur support