Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012)

From Silence (1988)

for soprano, six instrumentalists and tape

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1988
    • Duration: 21 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music
    • Commission: MIT (groupe musique et cognition)
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Jonathan Harvey et West Malling Abbey

Detailed formation
  • soloist: solo soprano
  • violin, viola, percussionist, 3 electronic/MIDI keyboards/synthesizers [Akai S-900, Yamaha DX7 IIFD et Yamaha TX816]

Premiere information

  • Date: 2 February 1989

    Etats-Unis, Massachussetts Institute of Technology


    le MIT Ensemble, direction : Barry Vercoe, Karol Bennett.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: autre dispositif électronique (2 SPX 90 II effects units with 3 technicians, Macintosh computer)