Thomas Adès (1971)

Under Hamelin Hill (1992)

for organ

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1992
    • Duration: 8 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music
    • Opus: 6
  • Type
    • Solo (excluding voice) [Organ]
Detailed formation
  • organ

Premiere information

  • Date: 29 July 1992

    Royaume-Uni, Cambridge, Ely Cathedral


    Thomas Adès, Charles Armstrong, James Martin (orgue)

Table of contents

1. Preambulum
2. Fuga a tre voce, con alcune licenze
3. Arietta

Program note

Based on the story of the Pied Piper, Under Hamelin Hill is an exuberant invention for chamber organ: the Preambulum a right-hand moto perpetuo over punchy, teasing rhythms for the left hand; the Fuga a surprise as two further players, drawn by the piping, come on to join the first players; the Arietta a long, descending sigh over mysterious rumbles.

Andrew Porter.