Thomas Adès (1971)

Sonata da Caccia (1993 -1994)

for three instrumentalists

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1993 - 1994
    • Duration: 14 mn
    • Publisher: Faber Music, Londres, 1994
    • Opus: 11
    • Commission: BBC
Detailed formation
  • oboe [ou hautbois baroque] , horn, harpsichord

Premiere information

  • Date: 19 April 1994

    Royaume-Uni, Birmingham, BBC Pebble Mill


    le Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, direction : Thomas Adès.

Program note

The combination of oboe, horn and harpsichord was devised by Debussy for the fourth of his instrumental sonatas, which death prevented him from composing. This piece could be imagined as a ‘homage’ to Debussy and Couperin, in the manner of the latter’s L’Apothéose de Corelli or L’Apothéose de Lulli. All indications in French are taken from works of Couperin. Dynamic indications (in round brackets) and other markings (in square brackets) are to be treated as the benign suggestions of a very expert editor.


Thomas Adès.