Gloria Coates (1934-2023)

Indian Sounds (1991)

for voices and chamber orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1991
    • Duration: 30 mn
    • Libretto (details, author):

      textes tirés de chansons des Seneca, des Winnebago et des Indiens des plaines

Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists
  • flute (also soprano recorder), oboe (also English horn), clarinet (also bass clarinet), bassoon, timpani, 2 percussionists, piano, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 27 February 1992

    Allemagne, Munich, Munich Philharmonic, Chamber Hall


    Sigune von Osten, soprano ; Musica Viva Ensemble Dresden ; Jürgen Wirrmann, direction

Table of contents

I. Indian Sounds
II. Indian Mounds
III. Indian Grounds