Gloria Coates (1934-2023)

Planets (1974)

three movements for chamber orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1974
    • Duration: between 15 mn and 16 mn
    • Commission: Tage der neue Musik Hannover 1975
Detailed formation
  • flute (also piccolo), oboe (also English horn), 2 bassoons (also contrabassoon), horn, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 2 February 1975

    Allemagne, Hannovre, NDR Hall, Tage der neue Musik


    Studio Orchestra ; Klaus Bernbacher, direction

Table of contents

I. Horizontal
II. Diagonal
III. Back and Forth