Gloria Coates (1934-2023)

Voices of Women in Wartime (1972 -1973)

cantata for soprano, piano, viola, cello and two percussionists

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1972 - 1973
    • Duration: 12 mn
Detailed formation
  • soloist: soprano
  • piano, 2 percussionists, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 29 January 1974

    Allemagne, Munich, Lenbach House, galerie


    E. Urbanczek, soprano ; R. Buehl, violoncelle ; K.H. Mrongovius, piano ; H. Gschwendtner, percussion


Cette pièce a été fusionnée dans The Force for Peace in War (1974-1989).

Table of contents

I. Junge Witwe
II. BBC Forecast / The Flying Bombers
III. Ein Paar Zeilen / Rinne Regen rinne
IV. All the World is an Orphan’s Home