Sir John Tavener (1944-2013)

The World (1997)

for soprano and string quartet

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1997
    • Duration: 10 mn
    • Publisher: Chester Music
    • Commission: West Cork Chamber Music Festival
    • Dedication: with great affection to Kathleen Raine on the occasion of her 90th birthday
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Kathleen Raine

Detailed formation
  • soloist: soprano
  • violin, second violin, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Location:

    Irlande, Cork, Bantry House


    Patricia Rozario, soprano ; Vanbrugh String Quartet