Sir John Tavener (1944-2013)

Sixteen Haiku of Seferis (1984)

for soprano, tenor and ensemble

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1984
    • Duration: 20 mn
    • Publisher: Chester Music
    • Commission: St. David's Cathedral Bach Festival
    • Dedication: with affection to Anastasia and Petros Morosinis, my dear friends and neighbours in Aegina
    • Libretto (details, author):

      George Seferis

Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, tenor
  • timpani, gongs, handbells, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 16 May 1984

    Royaume-Uni, St David, Cathédrale


    Alison Gough, soprano ; Peter Hall, ténor ; BBC Welsh Symphony Orchestra ; Gaetano Delogu, direction