Johannes Kalitzke (1959)

Die Besessenen (2008 -2009)

opera in four acts

electronic work
stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2008 - 2009
    • Duration: 2 h 10 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Christoph Klimke d’après le roman éponyme de Witold Gombrowicz

Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists(soprano, mezzo-soprano, countertenor, tenor, 2 baritone, bass voice)
  • 2 flutes, oboe (also English horn), clarinet, bass clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, bassoon (also contrabassoon), horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba, 2 percussionists, piano, celesta, accordion, harp, electric guitar, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 19 February 2010

    Autriche, Vienne, Theater an der Wien


    Klangforum Wien ; Johannes Kalitzke, direction

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: échantillonneur - sampler

Table of contents

I. Akt: Spiel ab
II. Akt: Rückwege
III. Akt: Stufen
IV. Akt: Labyrinth