Nico Muhly (1981)

Dark Sisters (2011)

opera in two acts for seven voices and orchestra

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2011
    • Duration: 1 h 30 mn
    • Publisher: St. Rose Music Publishing
    • Commission: Gotham Chamber Opera et Opera of Philadelphia
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Stephen Karam

Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists(5 soprano, mezzo-soprano, bass voice)
  • flute (also piccolo), oboe (also English horn), clarinet (also bass clarinet), horn, trombone, percussionist, piano (also celesta), harp, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information