Gavin Bryars (1943)

Dido and Orfeo (2010 -2011)

(after Purcell and Gluck), for ensemble

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2010 - 2011
    • Video, installation (detail, author): Édouard Lock, chorégraphie
    • Duration: 1 h 30 mn
    • Publisher: Schott, nº LSL 10325
    • Commission: La La La Human Steps
Detailed formation
  • saxophone (also alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone), piano, viola, cello

Premiere information

  • Date: 5 January 2011

    Pays-Bas, Amsterdam, Het Muziektheater


    La La La Human Steps

Table of contents

I. Overture
II. Banish Sorrow
III. Ah, Belinda
IV. Cupid only
V. To the hills
VI. The Triumphing dance
VII. Prelude for the witches
VIII. In our deep vaulted cell
IX. Thanks to the lonesome vales
X. Oft she visits
XI. Haste haste
XII. Dido’s lament
XIII. With drooping wings
XIV. After the Witches’ Prelude
XV. Che Piangendo
XVI. Pantomime
XVII. Ah, si intorno
XVIII. Chiamo il mio ben cosi
XIX. Dance of the Furies
XX. Ah quale incognito
XXI. Men Tiranne
XXII. Dance A
XXIII. Dance B
XXV. Dance of the Heroes / Herroines
XXVI. Cet asile aimable
XXVII. Vieni a regni
XXVIII. Che farò senza Euridice
XXIX. Sposa
XXX. Si Aspetta
XXXI. Trio