Augusta Read Thomas (1964)

Spirit Musings, Violin Concerto #1 (1997)

for violin and chamber orchestra (fifteen players)

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1997
    • Duration: 11 mn
    • Publisher: Schirmer
Detailed formation
  • soloist: violin
  • flute, oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon, horn, trumpet, percussion, harp, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 1998

    Performers: Boston Modern Orchestra Project ; Indiana University New Music Ensemble.

Table of contents

I: Spirited, clear and energetic
II: Resonant and elegant
III: Majestic and lyric