Gavin Bryars (1943)

Third Book of Madrigals (2003 -2004)

for soprano, tenor, bass and lute

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2003 - 2004
    • Duration: 25 mn
    • Publisher: Schott, nº ED 12787
    • Commission: Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Pétrarque, traduit par J. M. Synge

Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, tenor, bass voice
  • lute

Premiere information

  • Date: 27 November 2003

    Royaume-Uni, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival


    Red Byrd

Table of contents

  1. Laura being dead, Petrarch finds trouble in all the things of the earth
  2. He asks his heart to raise itself up to God
  3. He wishes he might die and follow Laura
  4. Laura is ever present to him
  5. He considers that he should set little store on earthly beauty
  6. He recalls his visions of her
  7. He finds comfort and rest in his sorrows
  8. He ceases to speak of her graces and her virtues which are no more
  9. He considers the reasons for his verses