Gavin Bryars (1943)

Third Book of Madrigals nos. 10-17 (2005)

for soprano, tenor, bass and lute

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2005
    • Publisher: Schott, nº ED 12787
Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, tenor, bass voice
  • lute

Premiere information

Table of contents

  1. He is jealous of the heaven’s and the earth
  2. The fine time of the year increases Petrarch’s sorrow
  3. He understands the great cruelty of death
  4. The sight of Laura’s house reminds him of the great happiness he has lost
  5. He sends his rhymes to the tomb of Laura to pray her to call him to her
  6. Only he who mourns her and Heaven that possesses her knew her while she lived
  7. Petrarch is unable to contain his grief
  8. Laura waits for him in heaven