Gavin Bryars (1943)

Nothing like the Sun (2007)

8 Shakespeare sonnets for soprano, tenor, speaking voice and ensemble

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2007
    • Duration: 1 h 60 s
    • Publisher: Schott, nº LSL 10119-01
    • Commission: Opera North et la Royal Shakespeare Company
Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists(soprano, tenor, narrator)
  • bass clarinet (also clarinet), percussionist, piano, electric guitar (also guitar), 2 violas, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 24 February 2007

    Royaume-Uni, Stratford on Avon, The Courtyard Theatre


    Anna Maria Friman, soprano ; John Potter, ténor ; Gavin Friday
    Opera North Ensemble ; James Holmes, direction

Table of contents

I A. Sonnet 60 (récité)
I B. Sonnet 60 (soprano et ténor)
II A. Sonnet 123 (récité)
II B. Sonnet 123 (ténor solo)
III A. Sonnet 128 (récité)
III B. Sonnet 128 (soprano solo) suivi d’un postlude
IV A. Sonnet 94 (récité)
IV B. Sonnet 94 (soprano et ténor)
V A. Sonnet 102 (récité)
V B. Sonnet 102 (soprano solo)
VI A. Sonnet 146 (récité)
VI B. Sonnet 146 (soprano et ténor) suivi d’un postlude
VII A. Sonnet 55 (récité)
VII B. Sonnet 55 (ténor solo)
VIII A. Sonnet 64 (récité)
VIII B. Sonnet 64 (soprano et ténor) suivi d’un épilogue