Michael Gordon (1956)

Van Gogh (1991)

for voice and ensemble

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1991
    • Video, installation (detail, author): Vidéo d'Elliot Caplan.
    • Duration: 1 h 3 mn
    • Publisher: Red Poppy
    • Commission: New York State Council on the Arts
    • Dedication: David Lang
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Texte de Michael Gordon basé sur des lettres de Vincent Van Gogh.

Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, tenor, solo bass voice
  • clarinet (also bass clarinet), percussionist, piano, electric guitar, violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 28 May 1991

    États-Unis, New York, Bang on a Can Festival