Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998)

Psalms of Repentance (1988)

for choir

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1988
    • Duration: 37 mn
    • Publisher: Hans Sikorski
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Texte russe de la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle.

Detailed formation
  • mixed choir

Premiere information

  • Date: 26 December 1988

    URSS, Moscou


    le Chœur de chambre de l'URSS ; Valery Polyansky, direction.

Table of contents

1. Adam Sat before Paradise, Weeping [Plakasya Adamo pred’ raemo sedya:]
2. The Desert Receives Me the Way a Mother Receives Her Child.[Priimi mya, pustymi, Yako mati chado svoe]
3. That Is Why I Live in Poverty [Sego radi nishch est’, cela ne imeyu]
4. My Soul [Dushe moya]
5. Oh Man – Doomed and Wretched [Okayanne ubogyi cheloveche]
6. When They Saw the Ship That Suddenly Arrived [Zrya korable napracno pristabaema]
7. Oh My Soul, Why Are You not Afraid? [Dyshe moya, kako ne ustrashaeshisya]
8. If You Want to Overcome the Timelessness and Sorrow [Ashche khoshcheshi pobediti bezvremyannuyu pechal’]
9. I Have Thought over My Life as a Clergyman’s Life [Vospomyanukh zhitie svoe kliroskoe az nepotrebnyi]
10. Flock Together, You Christian People [Pridete, khristonosenii lyudie]
11. I Have Come into This Miserable Life [Nago izydokho, na plach’ sei, mladenets cyn]
12. [sans texte]