Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)

Revelation and Fall (1966)

monodrama for soprano and ensemble

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1966
    • Duration: 25 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Opus: 31
    • Commission: Serge Koussevitsky Music Foundation, Library of Congress, Washington.
    • Dedication: To the memory of Serge and Natalie Koussevitsky
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Texte : Georg Trakl, Offenbarung und Untergang.

Detailed formation
  • soloist: soprano
  • flute (also piccolo), oboe, clarinet (also bass clarinet), bassoon (also contrabassoon), horn, trumpet, trombone, 3 percussions, harp, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 25 February 1966

    Royaume-Uni, Londres, Conway Hall


    Mary Thomas, soprano, Pierrot Players, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, direction.