Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)

The Martyrdom of St. Magnus (1976)

chamber opera in nine scenes

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1976
    • Duration: 1 h 12 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Opus: 72
    • Commission: BBC
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Livret : Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.

Detailed formation
  • soloists: mezzo-soprano, tenor, 2 baritones, solo bass voice
  • flute (also piccolo, alto flute), clarinet (also bass clarinet), horn, trumpet, percussionist, harpsichord (also celesta), guitar, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 18 June 1977

    Royaume-Uni, Orcades, Kirkwall, St Magnus Cathedral


    Neil Mackie, ténor, Michael Rippon, Brian Rayner Cook barytons, Ian Comboy, basse, Mary Thomas, mezzo-soprano, The Fires of London, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, direction