Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)

The Lighthouse (1979)

one-act chamber opera with prologue

stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1979
    • Duration: 1 h 12 mn
    • Publisher: Chester Music
    • Opus: 86
    • Commission: Edinburgh International Festival
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Livret : Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

Detailed formation
  • soloists: tenor, baritone, solo bass voice
  • flute, clarinet, horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion, piano (also celesta), guitar (also banjo), violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 2 September 1980

    Royaume-Uni, Edimbourg, Murray House Gymnasium


    Neil Mackie, ténor, Michael Rippon, baryton, David Wilson-Johnson, basse, The Fires of London, Richard Dufallo, direction, David William, mise en scène.