Osvaldo Golijov (1960)

Ainadamar (2003)

opera for solo voices and orchestra

electronic work
stage work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2003
    • Duration: 1 h 20 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commission: Boston Symphony Orchestra, avec des fonds provenant de Patricia Plum Wylde, Catherine et Paul Buttenwieser, le fonds Omar del Carlo Tanglewood, et Saville Ryan Marsh
    • Dedication: à Sue Knudsen (In Memoriam) et Anthony Fogg
    • Libretto (details, author):

      David Henry Hwang.

Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, soprano, contralto, tenor, baritone
  • women's choir(3 soprano, 3 mezzo-soprano), 3 flutes (also alto flute, piccolo), oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon (also contrabassoon), 2 horns, 2 trumpets, trombone, 2 guitars, harp, electronic/MIDI keyboard/synthesizer, 3 percussionists, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 10 August 2003

    États-Unis, Tanglewood festival of Contemporary Music


    Dawn Upshaw : soprano, Kelley O'Connor : alto, Amanda Forsythe : soprano, Charles Blandy : ténor, chanteur de flamenco, Shannon De Vine : baryton, chanteurs du Tanglewood Music Center, mise en scène : Chay Yew.


Enregistrement disponible chez Deutsche Grammophon (2006).