Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)

Sea Elegy (1998)

for soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor, baritone, choir and orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1998
    • Duration: 16 mn
    • Publisher: Chester Music
    • Opus: 194
    • Commission: Scottish Chamber Orchestra, pour son 25e anniversaire
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Texte : The Sea: Four Elegies de George Mackay Brown.

Detailed formation
  • soloists: soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor, baritone
  • 2 flutes (also piccolo, alto flute), 2 oboes, clarinet, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons (also 1 contrabassoon), 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones, timpani, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 3 December 1998

    Royaume-Uni, Edimbourg, Queen's Hall


    Lisa Tyrrell, soprano, Margaret McDonald, mezzo-soprano, Neil Mackie tenor, David Wilson-Johnson, baryton, Scottish Chamber Orchestra Chorus, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, direction.