James Wood (1953)

Phianomena (1991 -1992)

for eighteen voices, seventeen instruments and tape

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1991 - 1992
    • Duration: 23 mn
Detailed formation
  • ensemble of vocal soloists(3 solo soprano, 3 solo mezzo-soprano, 3 solo contralto, 3 solo tenor, 3 solo baritone, 3 solo bass voice), flute (also piccolo), alto flute (also bass flute, piccolo), oboe (also oboe d'amore), clarinet (also bass clarinet, Eb clarinet), trumpet, trombone, bass trombone, 3 percussionists, piano, cymbalom, harp, violin, viola

Premiere information

  • Location:

    Mars 1992, Royaume-Uni, Londres, Barbican, St. Giles-Cripplegate


    Critical Band, New London Chamber Choir, James Wood, direction.