Simon Steen-Andersen (1976)

Praesens (2001)

for 14 musicians

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2001
    • Duration: 16 mn 33 s
    • Publisher: Edition·S
Detailed formation
  • flute, clarinet, horn, trumpet, trombone, 3 percussionists, piano, violin, second violin, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 9 September 2007

    Danemark, Århus, The Music Hall


    le Aarhus Sinfonietta.

Program note

In its own favour it is supposedly obvious that the ambiguity must not be explicitly ambiguous: not until one is convinced shall it be called in question, the balance be disturbed, the contradictory direction be revealed: - on the one hand an important tilt-question in this music is the relationship between independence of musical individuum/identities, their role in a kind of relay polyphony and the individual’s subordinated role in a quivering unstable (musical) universe being in a kind of plasma-state in which all communication across ‘time and space’ is possible in an continuum of pulse, noise and tone, beyondness and presence. – On the other hand the piece develops - well temporarily quite unambiguous - as a sort of double concerto for violin and clarinet. The music is always on its way to somewhere – but never with only one destination.