Simon Steen-Andersen (1976)

Black Box Music (2012)

for solo percussion, amplified box, 15 players and video

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2012
    • Duration: 32 mn
    • Publisher: Edition·S
Detailed formation
  • soloist: percussionist
  • baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, piano, 3 percussionists, harp, electric guitar, viola, cello, double bass

Premiere information

  • Date: 23 July 2012

    Allemagne, Darmstadt, 613m2


    Håkon Stene : percussions, Oslo Sinfonietta.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: amplification, dispositif multimédia (vidéo, lumière)

Program note

Black Box Music is scored for percussion solo, amplified box, 15 instruments and video. The starting point is the classical soloist-conductor, only in this case, the conducting and solo part are one and the same. The setting is a traditional theater stage with curtains, props and lightning, only in this case, the stage is also an instrument. Black Box Music could be said to be a deconstruction of conducting and puppet theater as well as an exploration and exploitation of the audio/visual relations inherent in conducting and staging.