Roger Reynolds (1934)

george WASHINGTON (2013)

for orchestra, three narrators, video and electronics

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2013
    • Video, installation (detail, author): Ross Kare (vidéo)
    • Duration: 24 mn
    • Commission: the National Symphony Orchestra (grâce à une subvention du John and June Hechinger Commissioning Fund)
    • Dedication: New Orchestral Works, the Mount Vernon Ladies's Association et l'Université de Californie
Detailed formation
  • 2 flutes (also piccolo), alto flute, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, 3 percussionists, piano, harp, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 3 October 2013

    4 et 5 octobre 2013, États-Unis, Washington, DC, the J.F. Kennedy Memorial Center for the Arts


    le National Symphony Orchestra, direction : Christoph Eschenbach, Josef Kucera : design sonore.

Information on the electronics
RIM (réalisateur(s) en informatique musicale): Jaime Oliver
Electronic device: temps réel, spatialisation