Aaron Copland (1900-1990)

Twelve Poems of Emily Dickinson (1950)

for mezzo-soprano and piano

  • General information
    • Composition date: 1950
    • Duration: 28 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Dedication: chaque chanson est dédiée à un élève d'Aaron Copland
    • Libretto (details, author):

      Emily Dickinson

Detailed formation
  • unspecified soloist voice, piano

Premiere information

  • Date: 8 May 1950

    États-Unis, New York


    Alice Howland et Aaron Copland.

Table of contents

  1. Nature, the gentlest mother, à David Diamond ;
  2. There came a wind like a bugle, à Elliott Carter ;
  3. Why do they shut me out of Heaven?, à Inglof Dahl ;
  4. The world feels dusty, à Alexei Haieff ;
  5. Heart, we will forget him, à Marcelle de Manziartly ;
  6. Dear March, come in, à Juan Orrego-Salas ;
  7. Sleep is supposed to be, à Irving Fine ;
  8. When they come back, à Harold Shapero ;
  9. I felt a funeral in my brain, à Camargo Guarnieri ;
  10. I've head an organ talk sometimes, à Alberto Ginastera ;
  11. Going to Heaven, à Lukas Foss ;
  12. The Chariot "Because I would not stop for Death", à Arthur Berger.