Kaija Saariaho (1952-2023)

Circle Map (2012)

for large orchestra and live electronics

electronic work

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2012
    • Duration: 26 mn
    • Publisher: Chester Music
    • Commission: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre national de France, Royal Scottish National Orchestra et Stavanger Symphony Orchestra
    • Libretto (details, author):

      poésies de Rumi, poète persan du treizième siècle (voix enregistrée)

Detailed formation
  • 2 flutes (also alto flute, piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets (also bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (also contrabassoon), 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, 4 percussionists, harp, piano, celesta, strings

Premiere information

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: temps réel, sons fixés sur support