Elliott Carter (1908-2012)

Two Controversies and a Conversation (2011)

for piano, percussion and orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2011
    • Duration: 11 mn
    • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
    • Commission: New York Philharmonic, Aldeburgh Festival et Radio France
Detailed formation
  • piccolo (also flute), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets (also 1 Eb clarinet, 1 bass clarinet), bassoon, horn, 2 trumpets, trombone, 2 violins, 2 second violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, 2 double basses [nombre de cordes minimum]

Premiere information

  • Date: 8 June 2012

    États-Unis, New York, Metropolitan Museum


    Colin Currie : percussion, Eric Huebner : piano, New York Philharmonic : David Robertson.

Program note

After the premiere of Conversations at the Aldeburgh Festival in June of 2011 Oliver Knussen suggested that I expand this piece. I decided to add two more movements, which became the two controversies. The first of the two controversies has the percussion in the leading role and the second features the piano which ends the movement in a flourish.

Elliott Carter.