Jesper Nordin (1971)

Residues (2006)

for orchestra

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2006
    • Duration: 17 mn
    • Publisher: Peters
    • Commission: Radio suédoise
Detailed formation
  • 3 flutes, 3 oboes, 3 clarinets, 3 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 4 trombones, 3 percussionists, piano, strings

Premiere information

  • Date: 18 February 2006

    Suède, Stockholm


    l'Orchestre symphonique de la Radio suédoise, direction : Niklas Willén.

Program note

Residues used the instruments of Canadian composer/instrument builder Jean-François Laporte as a starting point. In it’s original version it also included him as a soloist but in this version the only traces of those instruments are in the score. Residues was premiered by the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and received Swedens largest composition prize in 2010, the Major Christ Johnson Award of 20.000€. The motivation was ”A sound magician that explores and expands the acoustic room with uncompromising originality and curiosity.”

Jesper Nordin.