Maurilio Cacciatore (1981)

IV Anfibio (2011 -2012)

for amplified flute

electronic work, Ircam

  • General information
    • Composition date: oct 2011 - jan 2012
    • Duration: 12 mn
    • Publisher: Suvini Zerboni, Milan
    • Cycle: Anfibi
    • Dedication: à Matteo Cesari
  • Type
    • Solo (excluding voice) [Flute]
Detailed formation
  • flute

Premiere information

  • Date: 20 January 2012

    Autriche, Vienne, Alte Shmiede Kunstverein


    Matteo Cesari : flûte.

Information on the electronics
Electronic device: amplification

Program note

To compose a piece for solo flute in 2011 may present some risks… how many masterpieces were written for this instrument in the past years! Then, how to refer to the challenge of comparing?

The Fourth Amphibian maybe goes round this problem, considering its nature and celebrating its name. As the other pieces of this series, the piece is between the instrumental music and the “vocal music for players”.

The use of the player’s voice inside the flute reveals some unexpected results concerning the timbre. The flute for me does not finish to renew itself and I really enjoyed the writing of this piece, because of the open tube that is an analogy for me of freedom.

This first version is dedicated to a male player; soon will arrive the version for female flutist.

The flute as resonator tube, the amplified space to resonate an imaginary room, the mouth as resonator of the soul: the theatrical action works on these sources carrying out the music, carving more and more the uncertainty of its double nature.

Maurilio Cacciatore.