Alireza Farhang (1976)

Seihoun (2010)

for flute

  • General information
    • Composition date: 2010
    • Duration: 11 mn
    • Commission: Collectif Modern Music Making
    • Dedication: Ayako Ocubo
  • Type
    • Solo (excluding voice) [Flute]
Detailed formation
  • flute

Premiere information

  • Date: 27 September 2010

    Japon, Tokyo, Suginami Kokaidou


    Reiko Manabe.

Program note

Seihoun is the name of a river in a cultural region of ancient Persia. It also refers to "Maavraaol nahr" (beyond the river) the title of one of the pattern melodies of "Radif", the repertoire of Persian music.

The basic idea of this composition is to spread the melodic and timbre space of this persian pattern. Flute, as a woodwind instrument, offers vast technical possibilities and big variety of tone color which allow the composer to explore in a personal way the subtlest fluctuations of pitch and timbre in Persian music.

Seihoun is based on a model of purely musical elements.

Alireza Farhang.