Veli-Matti Puumala (1965)

Hommages Fugitifs (2000 -2001)

for solo piano

  • General information
    • Composition date : 2000 - 2001
    • Duration : 12 mn 30 s
    • Editor : Fennica Gehrman, Helsinki
    • Commission: Concours international de piano Maj Lind d’Helsinki
Detailed formation
  • 1 piano

Creation information

  • Date : 14 August 2002
    Location :

    Finlande, Helsinki, Concours international de piano Maj.

Table of contents

  1. Anna
  2. Linea
  3. Pierre
  4. Maurice le défunt
  5. Robert
  6. Alex
  7. Avopa
  8. Matto
  9. Monsieur Akolà

Program note

Hommages fugitifs comprises nine preludes for piano. The duration of the whole work is approximately 12'30'', and since the maximum duration for a commissioned piece in the Maj Lind competition is ten minutes, the performer may take some liberties concerning the order and the number of preludes which he or she chooses to include in the ten minute time span. The player should not play all the preludes. The order of the preludes may be chosen freely, with the exception of the prelude "Anna", which must be played first. Preludes "Anna" and "Linea" are obligatory. The player may choose between preludes "Monsieur Akolà" and "Pierre", but it is the composer's preference that both of them be included. From the rest of the preludes ("Alex", "Avopa!", "Maurice le défunt", "Matto", "Robert"), the performer may choose at will. Metronome markings are for guidance. However, the player should be strict about observing the tempo relationships given. Accidentals have been added for clarity in places where confusion might otherwise occur about what the pitches actually are.

Veli-Matti Puumala.